5 Sri Lankan Players Who Refused To Play The Limited Over Series Against India

The limited-overs series between India Vs Sri Lanka starts from July 13th 2021. The two Asian giants will play three matches in the One-day International format and T20 International matches. All of these six games will be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Sri Lanka recently had a winless tour of England where the tourists of the island nation lost the three-match series of the ODIs and T20Is. The Lankan Tigers are still in the transaction phase after veterans like Sanga, Jauyawerdene, Malinga, Murlidharan, Dilshan, and Tharanga have retired.

India has a good record against Sri Lanka in the limited-overs and test matches. However, in this crisis, five Sri Lankan players have opted out of the series against India, which will start in ten days.

The Lankan team which toured England had no contracts. That is why the host country players have refused to play this series against India because there has been an issue with the players and the board.

Twenty-four of the Lankan players have been offered the residential camp that began on June 25th. The players who were not on the England tour are also included in this camp. But they will not sign the contract for this upcoming series, and they will be asked to leave the camp and the bio bubble in Colombo.

The Sri Lankan players will return from England, and those five players who refused the contract are eligible to participate in the other series and tour. But these five players Vishwa Fernando, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara and Kasun Rajitha, will not play the limited-overs series against India.

Leave a Comment