Australia vs Sri Lanka: Yesterday’s Match Result

Rain-hit first ODI, Contested at Pallekele was won by Australia by 2 wickets. This win was achieved thanks to the fifties from Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith.

Before the rain-interrupted Australia was chasing the target of 301 being at 72 for 2. The game resumed with an improvised target of 282 runs in 44 overs.

Smith scored 53 off 60 deliveries while Glenn became the top scorer with 80.

Sri Lanka, the host chose to bat after winning the toss. They made 300-7 against Australia giving them a target of 301.

Danushka Gunathilaka and Pathum Nissank opened Sri Lanka’s side and scored 115 runs, each making a half-century. Until Marcus Stoinis took Gunathilaka’s wicket in the 10th over, both the men continued to smash the balls.

While Wicketkeeper Kushal Mendis scored an unbeaten 86 off 87.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.

1 thought on “Australia vs Sri Lanka: Yesterday’s Match Result”

Leave a Comment