IPL 2022: What You Should Know About Announced Group Stage

IPL Governing Council held a meeting on February 25, 2022, to discuss the format of the upcoming 15th season of the much-awaited Indian Premier League.

Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary of the BCCI, conveyed the critical decisions and changes made in the 15th edition of IPL. For starters, the upcoming season will be played over the course of two months in a complete bio bubble with no air travel involved for the players. 

The only thing that has concerned fans about IPL 2022 is the newly implied format. The new format has teams assigned in two virtual groups based on the number of teams’ IPL Championship wins and final matches. 

Related Post: IPL Stories: Who Is The King Of IPL?

Let’s understand how the newly implied format will work in IPL 2022.

What Are The Two Groups?

What Are The Two Groups?

The ten teams of IPL 2022 have been divided into two groups, namely Group A and Group B. 

Group A:

  1. Mumbai Indians
  2. Kolkata Knight Riders
  3. Rajasthan Royals
  4. Delhi Capitals
  5. Lucknow Super Giants

Group B:

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  4. Punjab Kings
  5. Gujrat Titans

Each team of these two groups will play twice with the teams of their groups. While twice with the team of their exact position in the other group and once with the remaining teams of the other group during the complete season.

For example, Mumbai Indians will play twice against Kolkata Knight Riders, both teams being in Group A. Then Mumbai Indians will play twice against Chennai Super Kings as they are exactly opposite in the groups and only once with the other teams of Group B that are SRH, RCB, PBKS, and GT.

Also Read: List Of 10 Most Expensive Over In Ipl

This new format sounds tricky on the paper, especially when the teams will be playing 74 matches over the course of 59 days. IPL 2022 will start on March 26 and end on May 29, 2022. 

The previous seasons of IPL took place for only a month, while the season will last for two months with the new format. Fans are concerned with the format because soon after the end of IPL 2022, the World Cup will start giving the players less time to get physically and mentally fit for the biggest cricket tournament in the world. 

IPL 2022: Matches Only In Two Cities, No Pan India This Time

Another thing that has confused fans is the bio bubble. With the announcement of the new format, the IPL Governance Council has made it clear that they are not willing to repeat the mistake of the previous season, which resulted in a halt between the season and the moving of IPL 2021 to UAE. 

The Indian board has finalized that every match of the upcoming season will be played in only four stadiums. Out of the 70 matches, 55 will be played in Mumbai at the Wankhede Stadium, Bradbourne Stadium, and DY Patil Stadium, while Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium will host the rest 15 matches.

The bio bubble is essential so that the teams can travel by bus to one place and another, and instances similar to the previous season of Coronavirus Outbreak in IPL could not repeat.

Leave a Comment