Jadeja Is The New Captain Of CSK, Dhoni Steps Down 2 Days Before IPL 2022

IPL 2022 is just two days away. The winners of last season and the runners-up of last season will face in the first match. It has also allowed some spectators to enter the upcoming IPL. As a result, cricket fans flocked to enjoy the new format of the upcoming 10-team IPL. But before that, the CSK camp has come up with amazing news that cricket fans have been surprised to see.

Before the IPL, Chennai Super Kings suddenly changed the team. Mahendra Singh Dhoni relinquished his captaincy two days before the first match. He handed over the responsibility to Ravindra Jadeja. Chennai said in a statement on Thursday.

IPL started in 2006. Chennai captain Dhoni from the first year. Chennai could not play in the IPL for two years due to occasional match-fixing. Then Dhoni played in Pune Super Giants. After returning to Chennai IPL, he was made the captain again. Chennai has won the IPL twice since their return. Last time too they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the final.

Jadeja has been in Chennai since 2012. Once upon a time, in Dhoni’s absence, Suresh Raina led Chennai. Jadeja is the third cricketer to lead Chennai.

Incidentally, Dhoni abruptly relinquished the leadership of the Test team during the 2014 tour of Australia. Not only that, he retired from the test format. He also stepped down from the leadership of one-day cricket in 2016. He left international cricket at 6.19 pm on Independence Day, 15 August 2020, by posting a video on the net. The question arose, also about the IPL game. Dhoni said that he will play in IPL.

Dhoni has surprised everyone with such a shocking decision before. Earlier, in the middle of the tour of Australia in 2014, Captain Cool retired from the captaincy of the Indian Test team. Cricketer Dhoni is almost gone. He doesn’t have much to give to his team now. Is that why Mahi made such a decision? The question remains.

The most successful and controversial team in the history of IPL is Chennai Super Kings. They have won the IPL title four times in total. They were also banned from Rajasthan Royals for two years due to a match-fixing scandal. But apart from that time, most of the time they have qualified for the playoffs consistently, which no other team has been able to do so consistently.


Leave a Comment