All Winner List Of Orange Cap In IPL [2008 – 2023]

Shubhman Gill clinched the Orange Cap in IPL 2023 by scoring 890 runs in 17 matches. In the final game, he scored 39 runs against CSK and proved why he is considered a good player in T20 also. Shubman Gill has shown clear dominance in this IPL and smashed 3 centuries. People were thinking that he might touch the record of 4 centuries of Virat Kohli in a single IPL, but he stayed behind by just 1 century. 

His highest score was 129 runs, which he scored against Mumbai Indians in just 60 balls. That was one of the best performances of the IPL from him. Even in the finals, he scored 39 runs in just 20 balls and gave his team a solid start. But the bowlers didn’t execute well and the target got chased by Chennai Super Kings and won their fifth title. 

TATA IPL 2023 ORANGE Cap  List 

Orange Cap In IPL 2023
Player Name Runs 
Shubhman Gill 890
Faf Du Plessis 730
Devon Conway 672
Virat Kohli 639
Yashasvi Jaiswal 625
Suryakumar Yadav 605
Ruturaj Gaikwad 590
David Warner 516
Rinku Singh 474
Ishan Kishan 454


YearPlayer NameRunsTeam Name
2023Shubman Gill 890Gujarat Titans 
2022Jos Buttler 863Rajasthan Royals 
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad 635Chennai
2020KL Rahul670Punjab
2019David Warner 692Hyderabad 
2018Kane Williamson 735Hyderabad 
2017David Warner 641Hyderabad 
2016Virat Kohli 973Banglore
2015David Warner 562Hyderabad 
2014Robin Uthappa660Kolkata
2013Michael Hussey733Chennai 
2012Chris Gayle 733Banglore
2011Chris Gayle 608Banglore
2010Sachin Tendulkar 618Mumbai
2009Matthew Hayden572Chennai
2008Shaun Marsh616Punjab


Shubhman Gill was a crucial player for Gujarat Titans who won the Tata IPL Orange Cup in the 16th edition of the IPL. He smashed 890 runs with a strike rate of 157.80. In total, he smashed 3 centuries and 4 half centuries with an average of 59.33. He played only 17 matches to achieve this mark and clinched an orange cap in a stylish manner. 


Jos Buttler was instrumental in this IPL and won Orange Cap in IPL 2022 by scoring 863 runs in just 17 matches. With these scores, he brought Rajasthan Royals to finals after 2008. Jos Buttler has scored a whopping score of 863 runs with a strike rate of 149.05 runs at an average of 57.53.

His highest score in that IPL was 116 runs, as he has scored 4 centuries and 4 half centuries to achieve this mark. He was the leading run-scorer in IPL 2022. He remains the second person after Virat Kohli who crossed the mark of 800 runs in one season after Virat Kohli. 


Ruturaj Gaikwad was the first uncapped player of the Indian side to win Orange Cap in IPL 2021 by scoring 635 runs in 16 matches on some tough pitches in UAE. He played for Chennai Super Kings and surprised everyone with his consistent and dominating performance in IPL against world-class bowlers. 

He scored 635 runs with a strike rate of 136.26 at an average of 45.35. In that IPL, he smashed 1 century and 4 half centuries and delivered exceptional performances against the best teams. Also, CSK won their 4th title by winning the IPL of 2021. 


KL Rahul was the highest scorer in IPL 2020 and got an orange cap for his spectacular performance throughout the tournament. In this IPL, he scored 670 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 129.34 with an average of 55.83. 

His team finished in 6th position in the points table but KL Rahul didn’t keep himself behind other batters. The skipper tried his best for the team but the entire team needs to deliver something. In this IPL, he smashed 1 century and 5 half centuries. 

You May Also Like: Who Is The Gujarat Titans Owner In IPL 2023