5 Players With Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

Cricket is one of those games where every single player gets rewarded for his contribution to the game and everyone has their presence on the ground. There are a lot of awards that a player can get playing cricket. However, Man of the Match is one of the best rewards that a player can get for his best performance in the match.

Giving a reward is very important in any place no matter it’s a sports game or an office job. Rewarding a player always boosts the morale of the winner and also encourages him as well as others to perform better next time so that they will get the award.

We will be discussing five of such players in the history of the Indian Premier League who got the award the most number of times.



1. AB De Villers – The South African stalwart tops the list with 24 man-of-the-match awards to his name. De Villers is a brilliant batsman and can hit any ball in any direction, he is just brilliant. He has played 172 matches and is just 26 runs short to complete a score of 5000 runs.

2. Chris Gayle – The West Indies run machine is also on the list. Chris Gayle is one of the top scorers in the IPL and he can score runs very fast. Gayle has played 135 matches so far in the IPL and has scored approximately 4900 runs. He has won the man of the match award 22 times.

3. Rohit Sharma- The Indian Hitman Rohit Sharma is undoubtedly on the list as he is absolutely a brilliant player and steals the show once he starts hitting. He has won the award 18 times in IPL.

4. MS Dhoni – The Indian legend holds the 4th position in the list with winning the Man of the Match award 17 times in his IPL career where he played 206 matches and scored 4632 runs. Dhoni is the captain of the Chennai Super Kings team in the IPL and has been playing for the same team since the beginning.

5. David Warner – The Australian star is fifth on the list with getting the award 16 times in his IPL career. Warner has scored more than 5200 runs in the IPL in 145 matches. He plays for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team in the tournament and is one of the top scorers of the team.

So, which one of the above mentioned is your favorite?

11 thoughts on “5 Players With Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History”

  1. Greetings I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless
    I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all
    round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it
    all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do
    keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Comment