Rabada Gets Purple Cap And Rahul Retains The Orange One: IPL 2020

IPL season 13 has us all excited and happy about the tournament. The game is getting better and interesting as days pass by. We all are just loving the vibe even though we are not able to be there to cheer our favorite teams. 

The players this season are in an excellent form. The talent and skills which we are witnessing through the matches are just mind-blowing. From batsmen to bowlers and the outfield has been just a spectacle. 

The games so far have been so spectacular with high chasing matches where batsmen just fire up the ground and even low scoring games where bowlers don’t give room for batsmen to open their hands. 

We know that IPL is not just about the trophy and there’s much more. Orange cap and purple cap are one of those things which the players and audience both look forward to. Let’s have a sneak peek at the updates of both the caps. 

Orange Cap Updates 

It is still KL Rahul who holds the orange cap as, after he received it no batsman from any team has crossed his total of 222 runs. Given below are the top five batsmen who are in the race. 

Batsman  Team  Runs 
KL Rahul  KXIP 222
Mayank Agarwal  KXIP 221
Faf Du Plessis  CSK  173
Sanju Samson  RR 159
Ab De Villiers  RCB 134


These statistics keep changing every day as batsmen from their teams keep scoring runs. We can see how in just three matches, these batsmen have reached this number and we know that there is much more to come. 

Rabada Gets Purple Cap And Rahul Retains The Orange One: IPL 2020
Rabada Gets Purple Cap And Rahul Retains The Orange One: IPL 2020

Purple Cap Updates 

So far we know that it was Punjab’s Mohammad Shami who was holding the purple cap. Things changed when Kagiso Rabada of Delhi bowled with a better economy rate. 

Now it’s the young South African bowler who holds the purple cap with the same number of wickets as Shami but a better economy rate. Given below are the top five bowlers who are in the game for the cap. 

Bowler Team Dismissals  Economy Rate 
Kagiso Rabada DC 7 6.25
Mohammad Shami  KXIP 7 7.45
Sam Curran CSK  5 7.33
Yuzvendra Chahal RCB  5 7.58
Trent Boult  MI 5 7.67

This was about the orange and purple cap updates. These will keep changing as games pass by. We’ll update you for the same! Stay connected! 

Leave a Comment