Get To Know About Purple Cap Holders In Ipl

Purple Caps are awarded to players who take the most wickets. This year, the purple cap winner was Yuzvendra Chahal who is a great spinner from Rajasthan Royals. A record-equaling 32 doors were collected by Harshal Patel last year – the most in an IPL edition.

The Purple Cap has been won by many, but only Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo have won it twice.

When he picked up 23 and 27 wickets in 2016 and 2017, Bhuvneshwar was the only player to win the Purple Cap for two years. Purple Cap would be worn by the bowler with most wickets in a season-long tournament and this is one of the Rules for IPL Purple Cap winner holder.

Meanwhile, the player who scored the most runs and took the most wickets in the Indian Premier League 2022 is Jos Buttler, who won an Orange Cap, and Yuzvendra Chahal won a Purple Cap, respectively. Chahal led the wicket-taking chart with 27 scalps, while Buttler scored 863 runs in 17 matches.

Yet, the Indian Premier League 2022 is just around the corner, and the cricketing world is already buzzing with excitement. In particular, India’s fans will be happy that this year’s tournament will be held in India after being staged abroad due to Covid concerns.

Because this is an IPL match, the pitch will also have an enormous impact on certain scenarios. With these changes, captains and team managers will look to get their bowling combinations right from the start of the match.

In the past 15 seasons, bowlers from India have won the award six times, with the most times going to bowlers from Chennai Super Kings.

List Of All Purple Cap Winner In Ipl

We take a look at all of the ipl purple cap lists from the history of the IPL:

2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan27171719.527.751
2021Harshal PatelBangalore32151514.348.141
2020Kagiso RabadaPunjab30171718.268.340
2019Imran TahirChennai26171716.576.690
2018Andrew TyeRajasthan24141418.6680
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarHyderabad26141414.197.051
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarHyderabad23171721.37.420
2015Dwayne BravoChennai26171716.388.140
2014Mohit SharmaChennai23161619.658.390
2013Dwayne BravoChennai32181815.537.950
2012Morne MorkelDelhi25161618.127.190
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai28161613.395.951
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan21161620.427.290
2009RP SinghDeccan23161618.136.980
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan22111112.096.461

Sohail Tanvir

Sohail Tanvir

 In 2008, The Rajasthan Royal’s Tanvir dominated IPL’s inaugural season, grabbing 22 wickets in only 11 games and winning the Purple Cap.

RP Singh

RP Singh

Deccan Chargers left-hand pacer RP Singh captured 23 wickets in 16 games to win the Purple Cap, becoming the first Indian bowler for purple cap holder in ipl in 2009.

Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha

Spinner Pragyan proved all doubters wrong with 21 wickets in 16 IPL games to become the first spinner to win the Purple Cap. The franchise he represented was the Deccan Chargers back in 2010.

Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga

With 28 wickets in 16 matches, Malinga broke the record for most wickets in a single season in 2011, mesmerizing the fans while playing for Mumbai Indians.

Morne Morkel

Morne Morkel

The tall, former South African bowler claimed 25 wickets in 16 games for Delhi Daredevils In 2012, taking the most wickets in the tournament with 18.12.

Dwayne Bravo 

Dwayne Bravo 

Dwayne Bravo took 32 wickets in 18 IPL matches for Chennai Super Kings in 2013, breaking Malinga’s 28 wickets in the IPL game.

Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma surprised everyone by dominating the wicket-taking charts during the 2014 Indian Premier League, taking 23 wickets in 16 matches.

Dwayne Bravo

After winning the Purple Cap once, Bravo won it again after only one season after taking 26 wickets at 16.38 to return to the top of the bowling charts in 2015.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar

Bhuvaneshwar bowled superbly and used time-saving pace changes to bamboozle batters throughout the tournament. His 23 wickets in 17 matches in 2016 made him the top wicket-taker.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar

After winning the Purple Cap the previous season, Bhuvneshwar continued his good form with the ball to become the first bowler to win a subsequent Purple Cap in the IPL. He took a total of 26 wickets in 14 matches during 2017. He took a total of 26 wickets in 14 games during 2017.

Andrew Tye

Purple Cap Holders In Ipl
Purple Cap Holders In Ipl

Tye upset Bhuvneshwar’s Purple Cap dominance, emerging as the top wicket-taker by twenty-four wickets in 14 matches in 2018

Imran Tahir

Imran Tahir

In the 2019 edition, Imran Tahir took 26 wickets in 17 matches, leading the wicket-takers charts.

Kagiso Rabada  

Get To Know About Purple Cap Holders In Ipl.

In his first season for the Delhi Capitals, Rabada impressed everyone with his fast bowling in 2020. He finished with 30 wickets in 17 games and was the highest wicket-taker.

Harshal Patel

Purple Cap Holders In Ipl
Purple Cap Holders In Ipl

In 2021, Harshal Patel was a major surprise on the Purple Cap holders’ list when he picked up 32 wickets in 15 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Yuzvendra Chahal

Purple Cap Holders In Ipl

In the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, Rajasthan Royals spinner Yuzvendra Chahal held the Purple Cap.

Final Verdict

Cricket fans must know about all purple cap holders in IPL; from the above details, you will learn about all IPL season purple cap holders with their scores and winning year.

Also Read: World’s Richest Cricket Board of 2022 Insights

93 thoughts on “Get To Know About Purple Cap Holders In Ipl”

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this.
    Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

  2. magnificent points altogether, you simply won a new reader.
    What could you recommend in regards to your put up that you just made
    a few days ago? Any sure?

  3. I love what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included
    you guys to my blogroll.

  4. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on various
    websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

  5. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and
    I to find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to present one thing back and aid others like you helped me.

  6. It’s actually very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, therefore I just
    use web for that purpose, and obtain the hottest news.

  7. Lego sets offer joy and creativity to people of all
    ages. I can’t help but show off my new masterpiece to my friends.
    Great LEGO brick kits The
    Taj Mahal was not built with my friend Jack. He ended up building a LEGO-based hoverboard.
    Epic fail turned epic fun! I built a ship of ideas out of LEGO blocks,
    but it went straight into the sea of imagination. Best adventure ever!

Leave a Comment